something that is mine

30 Aug

I’m currently in a stupid situation where the job I really, really, REALLY want is dangling right in front of my nose but I haven’t heard back yet even though it’s the end of the month now and the decision was supposed to be made around this time. I am just going to assume it means I didn’t get it. However, it would have been nice to be put out of my misery by now so I can move on because right now there is still this slight little possibility nagging in the back of my mind that I could get it. Ugh, make it stop. This is not the actual topic for today’s post though, here it comes.

I’ve been thinking about moving my blog from wordpress.com to  wordpress.org for most of 2013. While I enjoy the hosted version very much I don’t use it as such. I already have more subscriptions to other blogs than I can read on a regular basis, I long-since stopped checking out the Featured Blogger site and barely scroll through the tags pages to find new blogs. Don’t get me wrong, I have met a great bunch of bloggers that way but I haven’t felt the need to find new ones which is probably a reason why I don’t get a lot of hits. Another thing is that even though I almost have 200 followers, only a minimal number of them visit or comment on here. Lots of bloggers I connected with have stopped blogging or are on indefinite hiatus which of course makes me sad but is something I can relate to. In the beginning I only followed people whose blogs were on wordpress.com because it was easier, keeping in touch with them, the whole comment system and everything. Over time, I started following all different kinds of blogs, some on Blogger, some self-hosted which has made me feel like a caged animal wanting to break out.

This blog is my little part of the internet that is me and for unbeknownst reasons I’d like to make it even more of mine, I want to lose the .wordpress.com part of my URL for one thing. Also, I don’t like my URL too much because it’s looong. All my other handles on social media sites are much shorter and I like the idea of having them all match so I want this one to be in the WillieSun-club as well.

The problem is that I have no idea where this blog is going, I make it up as I go along (as if you couldn’t tell that already). It feels though as if I got everything out if this site that I possibly could. I want to expand my knowledge, have more influence on the design of my blog and such. I want more possibilities!

Until now I haven’t made a definite decision but it’s probably coming. When I have a steady income, I’ll move onto wordpress.org. And see, this brings me back to the beginning of this post, isn’t it nice how it all fits together? If I had a steady income now, I’d probably think about this step less and actually do it but it feels irresponsible at the moment. I just want something that is mine…

8 Responses to “something that is mine”

  1. Lashuntrice (@mrsstarstatus) September 2, 2013 at 06:54 #

    Definitely hope you get the job and then move the blog to .org so you can have what is yours.

    • WillieSun September 2, 2013 at 15:16 #

      Thanks, it’s going to be another week until they decide GROAN!

  2. rmiles August 31, 2013 at 02:52 #

    I sure hope the job works out in your favor. If not, apparently this job was not the one for you at this time, you will find something better. I know it. :)
    I’ve had similar feeling with the blogs here. I fall into that category of not blogging on a regular basis and I visit the Featured Blogger page about as often as I paint my nails, never. And I find I have no interest in new blogs. Is it just me or do all the newer blogs seem that they are teenagers or older-just-finding-my-true-lesbian-self femmes. . . no offence to teens, femmes or older women. And just because I’m a lesbian doesn’t mean that I have no other subjects to write about. blah, blah, blah. . .I’m just tired of the whole thing I guess.
    Please keep us updated on what you decide, blog and job wise. Peace.

    • WillieSun September 1, 2013 at 11:06 #

      Haha, yes, as an irregular blogger it’s more difficult. And finding someone who just blogs about everything is sometimes difficult especially if you go through the tags because a lot of people only have blogs that are about one specific subject which I frankly get bored with very easily.

      No worries, I will keep you posted and I am seeing it like you said, it would have been perfect for so many reasons but apparently it wasn’t mine to get at this time and that’s okay.

  3. sarcasticallybitter August 30, 2013 at 17:11 #

    Can you call the job place and follow up? Just to make sure and give you a piece of mind.

    • WillieSun August 30, 2013 at 17:13 #

      That’s what I will do on Monday. I tried to give them the time of their own but this is it for me, I need to draw a line.

  4. Emily Hornburg August 30, 2013 at 16:52 #

    Granted, I use Blogger right now, but I love having my own domain. It’s just nice to have the simple “.com” at the end instead of myblogname.blogspot.com. Blah. Maybe it’s a vanity thing.

    • WillieSun August 30, 2013 at 16:54 #

      There is a big chance that this is a vanity thing for me as well. I could go and fork 18$ over to wordpress.com to make this blog a .com address but I still would not like the url so why not do it right completely?!

Leave a Reply

