I fell into a rabbit hole…

22 Aug

I fell into a rabbit hole and it is called Youtube. The side effect of VEDA and spending most of your free time on Youtube watching videos of fellow VEDAers means that your also stumble upon other videos. If not for VEDA I would not have known about Grace Helbig and her Daily Grace show. While I learned about the Vlogbroters on Tumblr I have only now gotten really into their videos. And Youtube, kind soul that it is, keeps recommending video after video once you clicked on any of those and there are many.

To be honest, I didn’t even realise there were famous Youtubers out there. For me, the site was always just music videos and snippets of TV shows, interviews and fan videos on a multitude of subjects. Now it’s like wearing new glasses for the first time, everything is so clear and new, it’s amazing.

Unknowingly, had someone told me about famous Youtubers before, I would have thought they were like Reality Stars on TV, unreal and trashy and not my thing at all but that’s not the case. I am actually amazed by these people. Obviously Hank and John Green are no idiots. Between them, they have various degrees and a Printz Award. Their videos are entertaining, informative and also very silly on occasion. They’re not too full of themselves to put a Happy Meal into the mixer and eat it in front of the camera.

And then there are also people like Grace Helbig, Hannah and Mamrie Hart and many many others. They’re far from dumb. Their comedy may not be everyone’s thing but it’s not dumb despite its oftentimes silliness they manage to convey messages to their followers. You can tell that there’s actual work going into creating the content I get to enjoy which is what amazes me. No trashy Reality TV that makes me want to pull my hair out but clever comedy and an understanding about the business that is still so new nobody seems to know entirely what to make of it.

I read somewhere on Tumblr that if Tina Fey were about the age she was when she wasfirst trying to break through in the comedy business that she would be on Youtube, doing her own thing, being her own boss instead of trying to work her way up as a writer for SNL and I have to agree with this. Tina Fey, Amy Poehler and others would do the exact same thing that Grace Helbig, Hannah and Mamrie Hart are doing if they were about 20 years younger.

Youtube is an amazing platform that I am still exploring. It is so much more than shitty videos of live band performances recorded with the poor cell phone camera you were holding up. There are educational videos solely created to be on Youtube, like CrashCourse or SciShow. There are comedy shows like Your Drunk Kitchen and You Deserve a Drink or amazing things like The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and so many more.

I never expected vlogging to be so interesting but it’s similar to blogging and grasping that concept took a while for me as well. Part of me wishes she could do a similar think like Brotherhood 2.0 with someone on the other side of the globe or so; mainly communicating through vlogs. Sure it would be lots of work but it’s also kind of amazing. On the other hand it’s not really a new idea and thus not cool. I guess I’ll just sit here, continue with the rest of VEDA and be amazed by what Youtube has to offer.

8 Responses to “I fell into a rabbit hole…”

  1. San September 2, 2013 at 06:41 #

    OMG. I fell into the Youtube rabbit hole as well…. it’s crazy how much cool stuff is out there.

    • WillieSun September 2, 2013 at 15:17 #

      Seriously, I’ve been amazed by the things that are out there!

  2. AbsentElemental August 26, 2013 at 14:07 #

    Youtube is a dangerous place to go if you have any sort of productive task you need to finish. I’m so happy I found MentalFloss’ list show the week it started, otherwise I’d be worthless until I was caught up.

    • WillieSun August 26, 2013 at 18:40 #

      I haven’t checked put Mental Floss yet, still to preoccupied with other channels but you’re absolutely right, don’t go in Youtube if you have something to finish.

      • AbsentElemental August 26, 2013 at 19:28 #

        The Mental Floss list videos are hosted by John Green. If you go there, you’re doomed.

        • WillieSun August 26, 2013 at 19:29 #

          That much I knew about MF. John Green is slowly taking over my brain, haha.

  3. Mess August 23, 2013 at 03:25 #

    When I started reading this, I was thinking to myself that I needed to recommend the Lizzie Bennett diaries to you, and then you mentioned them. They are some of my favorites!

    • WillieSun August 23, 2013 at 16:58 #

      They were amazing! I loved the series so much!

Leave a Reply

