English Teachers

31 Jul

I’ve been watching Pretty Little Liars and Friday Night Lights lately. Both shows focus on kids in high school. While they may not have anything other than that in common, they fit together for this post. The reason I bring this up is because on PLL Aria has a crush/pedolationship with her English teacher. I don’t see the appeal of Ezra Fitz at all but that may be due to some fundamental issues. On Friday Night Lights I just saw Julie crushing on her new young English teacher as well and it struck me, what is so special about English teachers?

The only thing those two teachers had in common was their profession and the fact that they are pretty young and fictional characters from TV. At first I wanted to dismiss this, it must be a pop culture thing, I don’t know. I never had a crush on any teacher, mostly because they were usually old and boring but then I remembered the beautiful and young English teacher that accompanied my class on our senior sailing trip. She was not my English teacher but friends of mine took her class and she was most definitely swoon-worthy. She even had her own stalker (maybe that’s a bit strong of a word choice for the situation) from our year. And I was also self-closteted.

This brings me back to my original question, what is it with young English teachers that apparently makes them so much more interesting than other teachers? Is this a thing or was it just a coincidence that I also had a crush (I may not have called it that at the time for various reasons but that’s what it was) on one of that species?

Is it their love for words and works of fiction? Is it because they seem to be more artsy than, say, a math teacher?

I have no explanation for this. It could all be a coincidence that these two characters and my real life  just happened to arrange themselves like this. My school didn’t have a lot of young teachers at the time. We had a young PE teacher for a year and I think some of my classmates took quite an interest in him while I just pretended to. Other than that though I can’t even think of any other young teachers. As for TV land, this is hardly a representative cross examination, it’s just two shows  out of hundreds, maybe there are more examples for or against this trend. Have you came across something like this?

6 Responses to “English Teachers”

  1. Charleen July 31, 2013 at 17:06 #

    I’m also thinking of the English teacher from the movie Never Been Kissed, although that was slightly different since the “student” actually was an adult going undercover as a high school student… and since she was a writer it makes sense that she’d be attracted by his “artsy” side.

    I think all the things you mention make for a good story, but in real life… I don’t know that English teachers are more swoon-worthy than any other subject. I think any young, good-looking teacher who has a good rapport with his (or her) students would be potential crush material. (Of course, all of my English teachers in high school were women, so… maybe I’ve just never experienced that “extra” attractiveness an English teacher brings to the table.)

    • WillieSun August 1, 2013 at 15:07 #

      I do believe that every young teacher has the potential to be swoon worthy, I was just wondering why pop culture always uses English teachers for this sort of thing. You mentioned another of those, it might be more approachable or normal because the student isn’t actually a student anymore but it’s still an English teacher.

  2. Addie July 31, 2013 at 16:03 #

    Aherm. English teacher here. ^^

    Is it their love for words and works of fiction? This may be true, at least, to me, yes. Because they’re artsier than others? Very true to me as well. Although, I have never had a (straight) male English teacher, I definitely dig men whose artistic skills I want to imbibe. Take Tyler Knott for example. He may not be an English teacher BUT his expertise in word play is, for lack of a better word, HOT.

    • WillieSun August 1, 2013 at 15:09 #

      Good point. I think we’re coming to a little consensus over here on being good with words equals swoon-worthy. I can get behind that.

  3. AbsentElemental July 31, 2013 at 15:12 #

    Here’s my thoughts on the subject.

    English teachers have a greater grasp on the English language (for obvious reasons) than most other teachers in the USA. This allows them to be not only more eloquent with their wording (aka more romantic) when they need to be, but it also makes them more approachable, as they have to teach the intricacies of that language. This job to fundamentally break down language requires them to break things down in the simplest terms possible. Ergo, you have the best of both worlds in someone who both speaks intelligently and is relatable.

    Also – 3 of the 4 English teachers I had in high school were obscenely attractive to go along with it. One got fired for sleeping with a student. Every absurd TV show has some basis in reality.

    • WillieSun August 1, 2013 at 15:13 #

      Wow, there was only a rumor at my school that my German teacher (he was old and a drunk by the time he became my teacher) had an affair with a student a while back and now even lived with her and had a kid with her. I still don’t know if it’s true or not.

      Thank you for so eloquently explaining what it is about language teachers that makes them more relate-able because I failed miserably at it above. Originally I planned on fixing this post before it went up but then I got so caught up in cleaning and other stuff that I let it pass, whoops.

Leave a Reply

