Don’t you have enough by now?

19 Apr

The simple answer is – NO! One can never have too many books.

Ever since I was a little girl, I loved going through my grandmas books. I studied the authors and titles, looking for special one’s like War and Peace (which I never found even though she told me she had it), memorising their locations and storing the information away for a later day. I knew back then that having a library in a home would be my biggest accomplishment. I guess this is partly why I love buying books so much. I want my own damn library, OKAY?!!

Screen Shot 2013-04-19 at 3.14.02 PM

Yesterday I came across this post on Tumblr and I started to think about which room I could turn into a full-blown library. I didn’t reach a conclusive decision yet but I still have time and need to get more books first. Regardless I wanted to show you what I’ve got so far.

Only Kirsti beat me to it and now I look like a copy-cat. You have my word though that this is a coincidence and she was just faster than me, mkay? Here we go then.

DSC_0014This is the representational side, the nice mostly hardcover books. You’ve got the collected works of Shakespeare, some Russian literature (yes, War and Peace, I got my own copy, thanks for nothing Grandma) on the top left and the paperbacks on the right are crime novels; Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie mostly. Also, most of these books are in German.

DSC_0009Moving on to the other side of the same bookshelf, are the books I treasure most. Some classics and most of my English paperbacks. Yes, that truly is the Twishit-saga, I haven’t gotten rid of it yet, though it’s moving out next time I need more space for real books. I also got a Quran and a Bible, if I’d had read them I could actually become the next Pi Patel but as I haven’t, I’m safe. The Bible was a gift from my uncle and the Quran I got free in a Mosque in Bahrain so why not have it, looked nice and you never know when it might come in handy.

These books are neither sorted by name or author. It’s a very special system, based on publishing house, size, my love for it and the ability to best fit in these compartments. It may not be a logical system, there are at least 4 different compartments housing Jane Austen novels, but it’s my system and I love it.

DSC_0007DSC_0006

 Exploiting the little space there was between the wall and chimney, I put these two mini-shelves up to shelter some of the series I read.

The one on the left is mostly occupied with the Eve Dallas Series. I’ve been reading them for close to 10 years now I think and they are my guilty pleasure books although the latest I’ve read tend to lack a little of the stuff that once made me read them in a hurry. Maybe it’s just me growing out of them or the bad translations, I’m not sure. Now that Mom is not there demanding to be able to read them as well I can switch to the Originals though.

Aaaaaand, Thursday Next, of course.

On the right is a series of a local author whose books may not be the most demanding literature but it’s nice to read a novel which is set in your small city.

Below that is the Temperance Brennan series located. I hate that they all have different sizes and designs but I guess I can’t change that.

DSC_0010Concluding this post is my book outlet located in the stairwell. Yes, the shelf is actually that crooked. It was the first IKEA thing I ever put together when I 14 or 15 so please forgive me. I didn’t have a father to teach me how to do such things properly, I had to learn the hard way. Nevertheless these are books I inherited from various people. To my shame, I barely read them but they look nice and I adore old books even though I can hardly read some of them as they are written in Fraktur which takes some practice to get used to.

I hope this wasn’t too boring for y’all. Maybe I can come up with something more substantial next time.

20 Responses to “Don’t you have enough by now?”

  1. makeupandmirtazapine April 26, 2013 at 03:13 #

    I turned my little hall into a library. All the walls are lined with book cases. The problem is there’re all full and I have no space for anything new. I’m going to have to move.

    Yours look a lot better than mine though, mine are all disorganised and look kind of untidy.

    • WillieSun April 28, 2013 at 18:44 #

      I bet your hall looks great. Yeah, I prefer to arrange them so they look nice next to each other. Not the most organised system but I at least it looks great, hehe.

  2. onwindydays April 22, 2013 at 22:15 #

    Having a library would be soo awesome. Maybe one day…funny thing is my current wallpaper

    http://antilogic.deviantart.com/art/Library-Netvibes-BG-79007823

    is one of a library! I would spend daysss there….:P

    • WillieSun April 28, 2013 at 18:45 #

      Cool wallpaper!! Having a proper library is my life-goal!

  3. Jacqui April 21, 2013 at 13:04 #

    Ok, that’s actually really cool

  4. Melbourne on my Mind April 20, 2013 at 02:55 #

    Oh man, yours are so nicely presented!! Meanwhile, mine are shoved three deep in cupboards… Someday I’ll have a proper bookshelf rather than a $70 plywood one and be able to display them all properly. Sigh.

    • WillieSun April 20, 2013 at 10:58 #

      All hail IKEA! I use the big shelf as a partition so I can actually use it from both sides otherwise I’d be in the same predicament as you. A lot of the older books are in rows on the shelf though.

  5. L. Palmer April 19, 2013 at 20:20 #

    Books on the shelf tell the character of the reader. One day, when I have my own space again, I look forward to spreading out my books.

    • WillieSun April 19, 2013 at 21:05 #

      True, they can tell you a lot about a person. I always hope mine make a good first impression, LOL.

  6. Viveka April 19, 2013 at 19:37 #

    Before I moved to UK .. I had 1450 books (all read), I had a library … I tried to give away my books to the hospitals, but they couldn’t take them … because they can only have so many books as the trolley hold in those day, today it’s different. They have libraries.
    So I stored all my books in ABC in paper bags, wrote the letters on both sides of the bag … put them into storage boxes .. for 12 years and paid money again for them.
    Now in my new home .. I didn’t have space for all those bookshelves after bookshelves.
    So I went through every storage box, every bag and picked out the books that I enjoyed most. Today I have about 200 books – the rest I gave to charity. I think books give life to a home.

    • WillieSun April 19, 2013 at 19:39 #

      Holy crap those were a LOT of books. You’re right, books give life to a home, I couldn’t imagine living without them completely.

  7. danikrooked April 19, 2013 at 19:11 #

    As far as I’m concerned, this was a VERY substantial post. :-) I looove your book collection, it’s so big! Mine will get there someday. By the way, the picture you got from tumbler is very spot on.

    • WillieSun April 19, 2013 at 19:13 #

      I thought so too :-) and thanks for the praise, haha.

  8. AbsentElemental April 19, 2013 at 16:54 #

    You have far more books than I do, as well as a much nicer bookshelf. This makes me sad for my current book-storage state.

    • WillieSun April 19, 2013 at 16:57 #

      Dude, have you seen the last picture, haha? It’s the worst shelf ever! The others are great though, I agree.

      • AbsentElemental April 19, 2013 at 16:58 #

        There will be a picture of my crappy metal bookshelf going up in a future post. I’m sure you’ll see you have far superior storage lol

    • WillieSun April 19, 2013 at 16:58 #

      I’ll be looking forward to it!

  9. Jennifer Beese (@bottlethecrazy) April 19, 2013 at 16:47 #

    I love looking at other people’s book collections. You’ve got quite the impressive one!

    • WillieSun April 19, 2013 at 16:50 #

      I do too. It’s the first thing I do when I’m in someone else’s apartment for the first time; stand in front of their bookshelves and look at their books.

      Thanks, it still feels too small but I’ve still got more than enough time to build it up.

Leave a Reply

