Niagara Falls *flail*

4 Apr

It’s not difficult or takes long to get to Niagara Falls from Toronto so that’s what we did towards the end of our stay in Canada. And it was the best thing we could possibly had saved for almost last. We decided on Coach Canada for means of transportation and it was pretty cheap and an easy way to get there.

DSC_0266

We did this after Labour Day weekend which meant, after the official end of tourist season so when we got to Niagara Falls around 3pm the last Maid of the Mist boat just returned without us. We were a little bummed because this is THE tourist-y thing to do there and we missed it. Alas, we found something even better.

DSC_0277

The Journey Behind the Falls. It’s cheaper, it doesn’t sway and you can get close to the Falls to take pretty pictures for as long as you want…or…you know…until the whole thing closes down. There are also two tunnels dug into the rocks where you can stand behind the Falls as the water rushes down mere inches in front of you. Which is amazing! The sheer force of the water falling down in front of you, breathtaking.  As we got to one of the tunnels, a couple of black ladies were right up front singing and dancing. What a crazy sight but I liked it. Not sure if they were doing a rain dance or something similar. Just keep on rocking, girls!

CIMG1680

There are the American and the Canadian Falls, the Canadian’s are also known as Horseshoe Falls and they are way cooler than the Americans. Sorry USA. Since my friends and I are european, we could not just go over the border and look at it from the other side as it would have meant immigrating to the US for us. And that costs money, needs an online application, a sacrificial goat slaughtering and whatnot. Doesn’t matter because you get a better view from the Canadian side anyway.

IMG_1884

I was never good at following instructions.
Danger? LOL, WHUT??!!

We were lucky, it was a beautiful day, clear blue sky. We saw a lot of rainbows which is nice. I mean, who doesn’t like seeing rainbows?? It couldn’t have been better than that, except for the malicious gull stealing A’s cheese croissant right out of her hand. That thing was quick and angry and I’m glad it was not the half of my croissant.

DSC_0284

CIMG1700

To pass time until it got dark and the light show started, we ate dinner at Planet Hollywood because you can go into a Hard Rock Cafe everywhere in Europe, PH was a bit more exotic for us. The place was a little run down though, to be honest. Nevertheless we had a good time.

DSC_0290

When it got dark we went outside again because the Falls get illuminated and it’s so damn pretty!! Still not over the beauty of it! I wish I’d had a tripod to take nice pictures but I didn’t so most pictures I took are a bit shaky and unfocused. I could have stood there for hours, listening to the sound of the water as it rushed over the abyss while it shone in all colours of the rainbow. Another place I need to visit again. I just love everything concerning big amounts of water in nature.

DSC_0302And this concludes the recount of my trip to Canada. I had a blast, saw amazing things and added new cities to my “Visit Again”-list.

8 Responses to “Niagara Falls *flail*”

  1. Henri April 16, 2013 at 02:02 #

    I am moving to Toronto in 3 months! A timely post, this. Loved it. Need all the encouragement.

    • WillieSun April 17, 2013 at 18:01 #

      Toronto is fantastic!!I bet you’ll be fine there. Also, it’s close to Niagara Falls so that’s a plus.

  2. danikrooked April 6, 2013 at 08:48 #

    Wow! It’s so pretty!! :-) I like your photos, definitely adding Canada to my visting list.
    Do you like oceans as well?

    • WillieSun April 6, 2013 at 15:47 #

      You really should visit Canada some day. It’s truly beautiful.

      Yes, I love oceans. I love lakes and rivers and waterfalls. I like everything with huge amounts of water especially when they don’t ever stand still.

  3. Jacqui April 5, 2013 at 07:32 #

    Wow! Looks amazing!

  4. Melbourne on my Mind April 5, 2013 at 01:17 #

    Oh man. I haven’t been to Niagara since 1991, and now I really want to go. Even though I went like 50 times between 1988 and 1991. Any time someone came to visit us in Canada, we’d head up to the falls!!

    • WillieSun April 5, 2013 at 10:41 #

      Dude, that was a long time ago and I get that you want to visit it again. Idk, it’s a magical place in a way, especially when there are not too many people around.

Leave a Reply

