Accidental Defrostation #20sbprompt

3 Apr

I’ve said it before and it will never not be true – I’m only a bad impersonation of an adult; I suck at adulthood and most of the time I don’t mind. I still feel like the little girl I once was with pigtails, clutching my stuffed animal. Maybe one day I will outgrow this but not now and not anytime soon. I like hanging onto my childish ways. Even if it results in stupidity like this little mishap I’m about to share with you.

I have a fridge that’s integrated into the kitchen, it looks like one of the cupboards, very normal. And then I’ve got another fridge-freezer combination that Mom once bought because apparently we needed a second fridge. Now that I’m alone I don’t need all that space especially since I usually eat lunch at the university so I turned the second fridge off as it was empty. The freezer on top of it doesn’t have a separate switch so I wasn’t completely sure but still thought as long as the thing is connected to the socket everything is peachy.

And it was. Until I checked on it yesterday. Turns out, the freezer only works if the fridge is running and everything I had stored in the freezer had melted and was sitting in a puddle of disgusting water.

Way to go, me!

A normal, responsible person would have tested this thing when the freezer would have been empty but not me, nooooo! I did it after grocery shopping. I added stuff to it like ice cream that is now gone too. Sometimes, I should not be allowed outside of my bed. Seriously!

So, I spent yesterday evening cleaning the fridge (which was overdue) and then the freezer after I cleared it of the disgusting water. Ugh. I really mourn that ice cream though. 2.5l of it. The one time I buy a big container. And the pizza! Poor pizza! I love pizza.

At least I defrosted the freezer which was necessary and may earn me 1/100,00th of an adult-point but not much more.

I hope this counts as enough of an error and confession for this weeks blogging prompt. What are your failings? Killed a plant? Threw your stuffed mole against the wall out of anger (or is that something only past!Me ever did)?

4 Responses to “Accidental Defrostation #20sbprompt”

  1. AbsentElemental April 4, 2013 at 14:20 #

    I have a bad habit of not cleaning out my car despite being an adult. I’m normally pretty good with my fridge or my apartment in general, but the back seat of my car looks like a war zone.

    • WillieSun April 4, 2013 at 21:00 #

      Hahaha, join the club. I haven’t given my car a good clean since I got it 7 years ago but it’s not really dirty either.

  2. viveka April 3, 2013 at 20:35 #

    Wow … you learned the hard way *smile … like me with my netbook.
    Now you know … and I’m sure it will not happen again.

    • WillieSun April 3, 2013 at 21:15 #

      Oh, I will not make this mistake anytime soon *g*

Leave a Reply

