Why?! #United4Marriage

29 Mar

This week has been amazing. Since Tuesday, my Twitter and Facebook timelines are full of notes about the Supreme Court hearings on same-sex marriage. Every newspaper I frequent is talking about it, American or German, it doesn’t matter. And I haven’t gotten tired of it yet. With every post I see, my heart starts to dance more because it’s not just us gays fighting for it, there are many straight people supporting this cause.

You might ask: “But Willie, why do you care? You’re not an American citizen.”

That’s true, but what’s happening in the US is not so different from what is going on in Germany. Most of our parties support same-sex marriage as do the majority of Germany’s people. Our highest federal court will be hearing another case about this in the summer too and, given recent rulings, will grant us rights we don’t have yet. Another point is, I truly believe that if America falls (i.e. grants marriage equality) it will send a powerful message to many other countries, mine included.

164201_10151541126023281_2118869774_nThe Human Rights Campaign started a meme where you change your icon to a red square with an equal sign in it to signal you’re supporting marriage equality. A lot of my German friends may not know what the deal is with this sign and even bestfriendboy had to ask me if it was about what he thought it was about (and yes, it was). I changed my profile pic on Facebook and Twitter nonetheless, well I tweaked it a bit because I find it confusing if everyone has the exact same picture so I blended my normal pic with the meme one.

IMG_0378_neu

I read a post today about how it’s stupid and lazy to do so because the Supreme Court judges won’t care about your icon. You’re not even friends with them; they can’t see it which makes it of no value at all. But I digress. It may not influence the judges decision but showing support is never a lost cause. You cannot know what impact a simple thing like that might have on another person. The gay teenager or closeted adult could suddenly see how they were wrong in thinking their straight friends wouldn’t be on their side. It may ease coming out for a lot of people just knowing that those they went to high school with don’t think it’s an abomination that he/she wants to be able to marry the person he/she loves and is committed to. Or in my case, casually implying I may not be as straight as I appear to be without having to tell everyone in person ;-)

I will never understand how allowing the gay couple two doors down from you will threaten your straight marriage or all those other arguments our opponents have. They’re just stupid to me. Blame it on me being one of those inverts that seem to be the problem. However the countries that already support marriage equality like Canada or the Netherlands haven’t imploded or been worse for it. I really don’t know what people that are against it think will happen! An apocalypse? I don’t think so! I believe it will be a far less issue once we’re granted the same rights.

I’ll leave you with one of my favourite scenes from The West Wing.

(Maybe now I’ll be able to sleep after I got all the gibberish out of my head.)

10 Responses to “Why?! #United4Marriage”

  1. viveka March 30, 2013 at 02:44 #

    Forgotten to say I love the message in the video … missed completely out on the West wing – think I have to start watching it. Only seen it a couple of time … love Martin Sheen in that part.

    • WillieSun March 30, 2013 at 11:58 #

      Martin Sheen is fantastic as POTUS. West Wing was never on free TV here so I only got to see it after it was already off the air but I love the show. Watched it a couple of times since then.

  2. viveka March 30, 2013 at 02:42 #

    Somebody .. said that marriage isn’t between … sexes – it’s between souls. In Sweden gay can get married … and get the same rights as heterosexual marriage. Who are we to say what is right or what is wrong – it’s about love between people. My gay friends has children and they have very solid relationships …. been together for years .. longer than any of my straight friends. They blame everything on the bible -that was written … 2000 years ago .. we fly to the moon today – we can live with a metal piece that make our damage heart to be healthy, but we can’t marriage out of love, because our partner is the same sex.

    • WillieSun March 30, 2013 at 11:59 #

      Exactly, you don’t fall in love with a gender, you fall in love with a person.

      Another reason I love Sweden, even though I forgot to mention it above.

      • viveka March 30, 2013 at 15:57 #

        Sweden is very liberal … but Denmark even more.
        Yes, I think Sweden is a fantastic place … even if we could lighten up a bit .. we take things very serious and we are a bit difficult to get close too – expect when we are drunk, then we love the world and everybody in it.
        What is scary now here is that more and more people turn to the right wing party – our National party … that is very worrying for me.

        • WillieSun March 30, 2013 at 16:32 #

          Germans take things even more serious than you guys.

          Hahaha, so true. Living on campus, I hardly had contact to Swedes and they almost never talked to me except when they were drunk. Then they were the most outgoing people ever.

          Yes, the right wing parties are scary and not only a problem in Sweden. They worry me too.

          • viveka March 31, 2013 at 10:48 #

            It’s truly scary, it seams like the we have forgotten what happen with Hitler and his gang. Because it’s not only the young that join.

          • WillieSun March 31, 2013 at 10:50 #

            Exactly. Especially in this country where you barely have a subject at school that doesn’t cover the ramifications of Hitlers rise to power.

  3. strollingturtle March 29, 2013 at 06:28 #

    So Beautifully stated!! Am sharing this post on MY facebook page!

    • WillieSun March 29, 2013 at 10:13 #

      Wow, thank you! That’s a huge compliment to me.

Leave a Reply

