10,9,11 – I’m a Whovian now!

25 Mar

Holy TARDIS of Gallifrey, I really did not need to become part of another fandom but alas, here I am. I spent the last weeks making my way through Doctor Who and I’m enchanted. This show is brilliant. Granted, it has a tendency to rip your heart out, make you ugly cry and bring it all back together and I love it. I love this crazy show with all of my heart!

Screen Shot 2013-03-24 at 8.51.48 PM

AL may be able to love every Doctor the same amount but I can’t. I like them all but I rank them anyway. My favourite is the Tenth Doctor. He is so fast and perfect and argh, I just want to run away with him in his blue box. Ok, I want to do that with all of them but still. With him, I really, really fell in love with this impossible show so that’s that. My number 2 is the Ninth because a girl never forgets her first Doctor. The gap between Nine and Eleven is not big, they are pretty equal in my liking for them but still Eleven ranks a tad lower than Nine. Let’s just say, to me, he’s an acquired taste. He is great but not as great as Ten, I’m sorry. I know this is different for every Whovian so let me have my opinion.

I won’t even go into telling you about all the travel companions The Doctor has because I love them too. OMG. At the moment I’m really into River Song because she is fantastic. And that’s the beauty of the show. Every time I thought I wouldn’t like a change in the cast because of pictures I saw on Tumblr or wherever I was proven wrong. Before River turned up I’d seen pictures of her and thought I wouldn’t enjoy her character because she looks rather old in comparison to the others but her character is magnificent! I keep hoping she turns up in episodes because her presence alone makes them way better. I love her, her flirting with The Doctor and keep hoping she will be around for more than one episode at a time.

The funny thing is, this show is not all about aliens and spaceships. I mean, of course it is but it also tells the story of one man, the last of his kind, keeping the universe save for all of us. He’s got a big heart that’s heavy with sorrow for those he lost and he lost many. He never promotes violence but instead tries to solve problems nonviolently. He believes that every human being is excellent and important but then again, he loves every creature. He’s never afraid because his brain and sonic screwdriver usually get him out of trouble, even if he needs to recreate an entire population.

Thanks to Doctor Who, I will never be able to look at statutes the same way ever again. I will always expect them to attack me if I blink or look away because I see Weeping Angels.

Also, I’ll be waiting for a mad man with a blue box to come and invite me to be part of his adventures; to tell me to RUN.

everygirlsdream

I’ve watched many shows in my life but now I understand you’ve never known heartbreak until you watched Doomsday and see the person you love being trapped in a parallel universe you’re unable to be in because it would mess up all of time and space.

You can only say good bye to her by burning up a sun which is btw, one of the most romantic things to tell a girl in my opinion. So sad, but so good at the same time.

Thankfully I caught up with the show in time for the new episodes of season 7 that will start on Sunday and I can’t wait.

Oh, and the soundtrack is also really good!

10 Responses to “10,9,11 – I’m a Whovian now!”

  1. returntothe80s May 27, 2013 at 04:09 #

    Woo Hoo! As I am catching up on my reading, I noticed that you had mentioned Doctor Who a few times. And now, a full fledged Doctor Who article. This is one of my favorite shows of all time. But, I feel really old now. My first Doctor was the fourth – Tom Baker. In 1977, a little movie called Star Wars came out and forever changed my life. I could not get enough science fiction movies or television shows. So when I saw Doctor Who on our PBS station, I was hooked. The graphics were cheesy, but I didn’t care. And then the show disappeared for a while.
    Then the good Doctor returned in the form of Christopher Eccleston, and it blew me away! I was upset when he left, and I wasn’t sure about David Tennant. It did not take long for him to take over the top spot as my favorite Doctor! I’m glad I’m not alone about Matt Smith not being my favorite, or even second favorite for that matter. But, it’s still one of my favorite shows, and the last few episodes were great.

    • WillieSun May 27, 2013 at 04:15 #

      Star Wars original trilogy will forever be one of the greatest things I have ever seen! Doctor Who is amazing and I have learned to appreciate even Matt Smith’s Doctor. Ten is still my favourite though.

      I wasn’t too pleased with most episodes of the second part of season 7 but I am so looking forward to the 50th Anniversary Special.

  2. 2cagedbirds March 26, 2013 at 02:21 #

    The ninth doctor was my first too! I have to admit though, Rose will always be my favorite companion.

    • WillieSun March 26, 2013 at 21:01 #

      I love Rose. She is my favourite too and it broke my heart when she ended up in the parallel universe. Doomsday is the worst episode for my feels but I still like it.

  3. viveka March 25, 2013 at 21:09 #

    Have only seen one episode … we never clicked. But whole of UK is mad about this series, so you are in good company. You have done a great job with the catching up … you’re the same as me maybe, watch until the eyes bleed. *smile

    • WillieSun March 25, 2013 at 21:15 #

      Watch until the eyes bleed, indeed. The UK and many other parts if the world are crazy about this show. I have up after 3 episodes last year and the early ones are hard to get through but at some point I did catch fire. I just love the idea of being able to travel through time and space. Probably just my itchy-feet that want to go everywhere.

      • viveka March 26, 2013 at 21:28 #

        Travel in space … not for me … but in time I would enjoy – not so much the future as the past. Love that idea.

        • WillieSun March 26, 2013 at 21:47 #

          It’s not like traveling in a rocket, it’s the TARDIS. Idk, seeing space and that we’re not alone in this universe would be amazing. And seeing what the earth looks like in the year 5000. Ah, a girl can dream :D

  4. Melbourne on my Mind March 25, 2013 at 12:02 #

    I’m insanely impressed that you managed to catch up so fast!!

    • WillieSun March 25, 2013 at 12:04 #

      It get madly fast when I need to procrastinate. Besides, there is not happening much after I get home every day except watching TV. At the end, I couldn’t stop myself even though I may have paced myself to do other stuff aside from watching DW.

Leave a Reply

