Toronto – The Place My Inner Fangirl Nearly Fainted

21 Mar

It’s thursday again which is good because it means the week is coming to an end. This week’s post will take you to Toronto, the largest city in Canada. In a way, this was like stepping into a different world coming from sweet and small Ottawa to the big city. Our hotel was close to Yonge Street where most of the action lies. Also our room was conveniently located so that I could see the CN Tower from bed. Completely awesome!

IMG_0397

We got to Toronto in the evening but were restless from sitting on a train for hours and also desperate to see the city so we went out to do some exploration which ended up with us on top of the CN Tower at night. I can only recommend this, because the city looked beautiful at night and I believe that it’s far more interesting to see it in the dark than during the day. It also meant we didn’t have to stand in line or wait for anything as not a lot of people were there.

Isn't it magnificent??

Isn’t it magnificent??

The next day we just walked around and explored the city some more. There is just so much to see and it’s lovely. I will definitely go back to Toronto one day.

CIMG1581

Now, as a regular reader of my blog, you may know how much I adore Tina Fey. She started her career with The Second City in Chicago so when I came out of the shower one evening and A told me the friend of her’s we were going to meet in Toronto (they met during our study abroad in Sweden only N was there the term after me so we never met) proposed to go see a show at The Second City, Toronto I nearly fainted. MAJOR FANGIRL MODE!!! Thank god the other two agreed that this was a neat idea so we went to see “We’ve Totally (probably) Got This!” and I laughed so hard it was amazing!! This is my highlight for Toronto! Take all the cool things this city has to offer, combine them and I’m happy with TSC.

I was a good girl and too startsruck to at least take a picture of the stage before the show started but here's proof that I actually was in my personal fangirl heaven.

I was a good girl and too starstruck to at least take a picture of the stage before the show started but here’s proof that I actually was in my personal fangirl heaven.

While we were in Toronto the tiff (Toronto International Film Festival) was also happening there at the time and as we left TSC we ran into lots of people standing in front of theatres because celebrities were arriving there. We stood with them for a while, trying to make out who was there but the truth is, we couldn’t see anyone. It was still great though because a lot of famous people were in town at the same time as we were.

We were there, it counts, right?!

We were there, it counts, right?!

Another day we walked around China Town but that was too much for this small-town girl. Too many bright signs and shops and people and it smelled different…let’s just say I was glad to get out of there. Also, again, we did this walking part when it was warmest and there was basically no wind so yeah, not a great combination.

Don't get me wrong, it's pretty cool but so different.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s pretty cool but so different.

We stopped by another university where B stepped on a stranger’s foot and the stranger apologised. I love you Canadians!! From the bottom of my heart, you are awesome!

CIMG1624

I know I shouldn’t find this as funny as I do but I can’t help myself. Also, it doesn’t get more canadian than this, does it?

CIMG1611

Next stop, Niagara Falls. So. Much Water!

6 Responses to “Toronto – The Place My Inner Fangirl Nearly Fainted”

  1. Jennifer Beese (@bottlethecrazy) March 21, 2013 at 19:20 #

    I’ve never been to Toronto, but I’d really like to visit some day. I’m making a mental note to visit the CN tower at night — that picture is beautiful!

    • WillieSun March 21, 2013 at 19:22 #

      It’s really cool. I would have been able to take even better pictures if the lights from inside the tower hadn’t been reflected by the windows.

      • tikamika March 28, 2013 at 09:29 #

        Toronto is a great city. It get’s knocked a lot by other Canadian provinces as just another big, bustling city, but I think it has character. About the toe and the headstone… As a Canadian, I must say that you’ve captured the essence of what we’re all about.Kind and honest, but a bit weird.

        • WillieSun March 28, 2013 at 16:37 #

          It has character and as far as big cities go, it’s not that big at all. I really liked the city and it’s almost a toss between Toronto and Montréal with the latter winning by half an inch maybe.

          Canadians are fantastic and being a bit weird just makes it more fun, doesn’t it?

          • tikamika March 28, 2013 at 16:54 #

            Agreed! Montreal is Canada’s best kept secret. Your next stop should be Vancouver!

          • WillieSun March 28, 2013 at 16:57 #

            Definitely! The next time I go to Canada, I’ll travel the west as I did the east already.

Leave a Reply

