Winning Adulthood … Or Not?!

13 Mar

Like any self-respecting 20-something blogger I struggle with the concept of adulthood in one form or another. Most days I consider myself a failure at being grown-up. I eat all kinds of shit and not the most appropriate things in regard to the time of day, watch too much telly and dress in all colours of the rainbow. Also, referring to adults as grown-ups should clearly show that I’m not yet a full member of that club.

I couldn't find a bloody gif for this scene of Gilmore Girls so you get this instead. Also, reciting life-advice from TV shows?! No adult!

I couldn’t find a bloody gif for this scene of Gilmore Girls so you get this instead. Also, reciting life-advice from TV shows?! Not an adult!

Last week I tweeted how I again failed at being a responsible adult because I stayed in bed instead of getting up at a reasonable hour to go working on my thesis. It didn’t matter that I planned to get up in the morning on the night before because against better judgement of myself, I turned my alarm clock off. Kirsti was kind enough to put things into perspective for me though.

Please ignore the typos. I was still in bed and only typing with one eye open because the screen was so bright.

Please ignore the typos. I was still in bed and only typing with one eye open because the screen was so bright.

So, as it turns out, I’m actually winning adulthood. BAM!

The thing is, I don’t even know what makes an adult and adult. Working? – fail; Catching up on responsibilities? – about 50/50; Being able to call non-family members on the phone? – Only if I mentally prepare myself for a couple of days; Being asked if I’m old enough to drink? – Too many times to count.

That’s all I can think of and it doesn’t even sound legitimate as a point of reference. Maybe I’m better than I give myself credit for; maybe I’m worse. Who knows?! I sure as hell don’t! After all, there are days I have cheesecake for breakfast but because I’m 25 years old and nobody sees me while I do so, I actually can do it. I may have the ingredients to someday make a decent adult (if I ever figure out what that exactly entails) but so far, I’m taking the best parts of both worlds, mix them together and make my life up as I go along. Hello there, yellow brick road, where are you taking me?

“Is there a point to this post at all”, you may ask. Not so much, sorry. This is a long winded and contrivance-y approach for putting the link to my first awkward vlog on this blog.

rmiles, remember when I told you I don’t have a real German accent? This is your opportunity to find out if I was right even though I know you are more of a reader.

9 Responses to “Winning Adulthood … Or Not?!”

  1. viveka March 13, 2013 at 15:10 #

    Nice to meet you, Wilhelmina … being an adult isn’t really that bad .. the main thing is that you keep your heart young. Love you video … great job, sick and all .. craw under the duvet again and enjoy your day. In all honest I couldn’t see that your photos was from Sweden .. you have to do a close up next time. Or post them.

    • WillieSun March 13, 2013 at 16:12 #

      The video is actually from last week so I’m over the cold now. Well, I can’t tell you exactly where every picture on that wall is from, if I remember correctly, some could even be Finland but here is a bigger version I uploaded a while ago https://wilhelminaupton.wordpress.com/2012/07/10/25-more-things/dsc_0002_1/ There is one pic of Stockholm and of course, wooden houses :-)

      • viveka March 13, 2013 at 20:33 #

        Love the photo .. yes, there is loads of Sweden on your wall .. a lot more than Finland – Finland is beautiful too .. with all their lakes.

  2. Addie March 13, 2013 at 03:29 #

    What makes and adult an adult has always been the million-dollar question. I had my own reflection (http://justbeingthoughtful.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/1130/), I could only smile.

    • WillieSun March 13, 2013 at 10:12 #

      I still don’t understand what makes an adult but whatever. People that look at me maybe think I am one but I don’t feel like one and that is probably a good thing. I don’t want to loose my excitement over the first snow of the winter or finding a particularly pretty set of striped socks.

  3. tikamika March 13, 2013 at 02:30 #

    Being an adult is over rated. My goal is to be a kid with money.

    • Addie March 13, 2013 at 03:31 #

      Children are fun-loving creatures who do silly things and are not so much anxious about the past and the future. To grow to be a child – that’s my aim. Not at all times, though. Haha.

      • WillieSun March 13, 2013 at 10:14 #

        Not losing my inner kid is a big goal. So far, I’m not afraid that will ever happen, haha. Having money never hurts!

      • tikamika March 19, 2013 at 12:23 #

        Thanks Addie. That was much more eloquent than my original post :).

Leave a Reply

