The World’s a Goldfish Bowl

7 Mar

Happy Thursday everyone! Here we go again, another Travelling Thursday. I actually forgot to include this story in my last post because it happened in Québec City so it’ll get its own spotlight now before I move on to Ottawa.

The collective we I’ve used when talking about my Canada trip actually consisted of me (who would have guesses, I know!), A and B. A and me met while studying abroad in Sweden. She lived in the corridor under mine and was from Passau University. B is A’s best friend. I met B briefly while in Sweden because she visited A for a weekend. Why am I telling you this? Because this knowledge will come in handy once I get to telling you about Toronto and also because of what happens in this little story. Passau University does not only have Linneaus University as a partner but also the Université de Laval located in QC (and many more but that’s not important at the moment).

One day we find ourselves standing in front of the pretty (because old!) architecture building of Laval University, A is wondering about how many placements there are for an exchange from Passau to QC. I actually don’t remember the number and it doesn’t matter. A tells us that she had actually thought about going to Laval instead of Linneaus University in Sweden but then thought better of it because of reasons. After that we continued with exploring QC.

Later, as we are getting on the bus to go back to our hotel in Beauport the following happened. A group of 3 students ask us, or more precisely, ask A if she is from Passau. WHAT NOW?? This is when I think my mind registered an overflow error because how could they know as much? Easy, they were exchange students from Passau University studying at Laval and one of them was in a class with A back home or something like that.

How is this possible? I don’t have an exact probability for getting on the same bus as people you are familiar with on a whole different continent, out of the blue, but it’s probably pretty low. We flew over the freaking Atlantic, travelled thousands upon thousands of kilometres, got on ONE bus and met people that are not only german, or talk German but know one of us!! Consider. My mind. Blown!!

We chatted with them until they had to get off the bus. I mean, it wasn’t unusual for us to be addressed and asked if we were German only to be told of family stories, of ancestors from our country that immigrated to Canada for various reasons or of friends and vacations in Germany. After all, we did stick out of the crowd with us chatting in German amongst ourselves but this was a whole other deal.

The world is a freaking village, it’s tiny and my mind is still blown by this coincidence. Has something like this ever happened to you?

P.S. Sorry there aren’t any pretty pictures this time as it is really a story about riding the bus. Next time though. I promise.

4 Responses to “The World’s a Goldfish Bowl”

  1. metamorphocity March 7, 2013 at 22:16 #

    I love hearing about Canada from a visitor’s perspective. Can’t wait for your Toronto posts!

    • WillieSun March 7, 2013 at 22:18 #

      My trip to Canada has been great and I definitely need to go back there. It’s just so cool. I gather you’re a Canadian, eh?

      Toronto will come after Ottawa. Seriously, every place I’ve been in Canada was fantastic. I’m deeply in love with the country.

      • metamorphocity March 7, 2013 at 22:40 #

        That’s so great! Yes, I am a Torontonian. And I see you’ve adopted our “eh” ;)

        • WillieSun March 7, 2013 at 22:42 #

          A Torontian, that’s exciting. I don’t use it really, but I thought it would be a nice fit right there.

Leave a Reply

