Angry Blogging

6 Feb

This is an anger fuelled post so maybe I’ll be crossing a line somewhere or not. Also, if profanities are not your thing, just walk away right now. Ugh, I just need to get this out of my system so that my inner thunderstorm can calm the hell down again.

What spawned this emotional outburst you might ask? Well, this photo appeared on my Tumblr dashboard:

 

I don’t like Valentine’s Day and it is only a thing in Germany like Halloween is slowly becoming a thing over here. It’s not rooted in our history, just something we adopted and that’s okay. Maybe I’m a bit bitter because I never had a Valentine but the person who made this picture just thinks he/she is so clever. But they are not!

Just think about all those poor people out there that don’t have a mother or a father anymore so stop whining about not having a Valentine. 

Seriously? Who is to say that not having a mom or dad on those days in the year dedicated to them is more heartbreaking than a person not having someone special in their lives – someone that loves and cares about them and not in a parental way?

I’m probably overreacting, I’m completely aware of this but still. Still!! I can’t get over the stupidity of this picture. And this year I have neither, just FYI. I don’t have a Valentine, obviously. I haven’t seen or spoken to my father in years and for all I know he could be dead and then my Mom is actually dead. Oh, and Mom’s birthday would have been the day before Valentine’s Day.

So does this allow me to not shut the fuck up like the person in the picture insinuates? Because I feel like I have all the rights in the world to bitch about this. For as long as I care to! And even if my parents were still around, it doesn’t mean that I cannot be upset about the fact that I have no one special in my life. That I will die as an old maid for crying out loud!

Of course, there is always someone who is doing worse than you are but that doesn’t mean that in your situation, what you consider a loss is not worth the emotion. People go crazy over things and emotions that don’t matter, that are only problems because they are making them into ones but I don’t think this is. Sure, everyone brings their own background to this question but yes, I think it’s ok to be upset about not having a Valentine on Valentine’s Day. It’s just fucking normal to want to be loved and give love.

Now my anger is finally subsiding – just slowly but I take what I can get. Sorry for the angry ramble, this however is the place I use to vent.

12 Responses to “Angry Blogging”

  1. Melanie Jo Moore February 25, 2013 at 12:35 #

    I’m so sad I didn’t see this post. I’m always up for a cybernet bitch slapping.

    • Wilhelmina Upton February 26, 2013 at 18:40 #

      You can always store it away for next year and then do your own round of cybernate bitch slapping ;-)

  2. rmiles February 9, 2013 at 21:56 #

    What a good tirade! Hope you feel better. I can’t stand Valentine’s Day. . .just another trumped up ‘holiday’ to make money for corporations. I say we take a stand this year. Why not love ourselves on that day? If you don’t love yourself no one else will, right? So let’s start on the 14th. Treat yourself to something special and give yourself permission to accept. . .hmmm, now that’s a new spin on things. I wonder what I want? I still have a few days to think about it but it better be something good! Cheers.

    • Wilhelmina Upton February 9, 2013 at 22:16 #

      It’s so funny, people have so many different opinions on this. You are so right, if you don’t love yourself, how can anyone else?

      Hmm, now I have to come up with something to treat myself to. Well, like you, I’ll have to think about that but it’s an excellent idea! Kudos.

  3. Henri February 8, 2013 at 03:49 #

    Don’t have a mom, have a doting husband, still don’t care about valentine’s day (perks of being my age :D), actually LOVE the picture in your post. BUT…I also love your anger, it’s kinda cute.

    • Wilhelmina Upton February 8, 2013 at 10:07 #

      Um…thanks…I guess?! I don’t care about the day either but somehow I still care. I’m caught in between I guess.

      • Henri February 11, 2013 at 21:12 #

        Yes, I know the feeling. And it was a compliment. I enjoy how you write and what you write about. So any plans for ValDay yet? I cannot possibly call it V-Day, sounds gross.

        • Wilhelmina Upton February 11, 2013 at 21:16 #

          V-Day, LOL, sitting here, enjoying the sound of that. Never mind. Moving on.

          Actually, I made the plan to take myself out on a date and hit the movies. I still have to wait for the new schedule to come up as movies hit theater’s on Thursdays over here. But yes, that’s what I plan to do. Watch 2 movies and eat popcorn in the dark. What about you, any plans?

  4. viveka February 7, 2013 at 15:40 #

    Strange … I wrote exactly the same in today’s post. http://wp.me/p293Pw-511 – it’s all for commercial gain and nothing else – the money people spend on Valentine – is outrageous – and then nothing during the rest of the year … and if we can’t remember and show our love more than 3 times per year – why bother … and as you rightly said … what about those that don’t have parents or a partner. Brilliant post.

    • Wilhelmina Upton February 7, 2013 at 16:03 #

      Exactly, I hate those days, as if you can only show your love for whomever on those days. It’s just stupid. I always try to ignore them as much as possible but you still get reminded about them. Ugh.

      • viveka February 7, 2013 at 16:07 #

        Ugh, is the right word for it. I ignore them and sometimes when they carry on too much with their posts – I can’t help putting my view down.
        I have created a lovely Valentine card … for 14th. You have to come back for that.

Leave a Reply

