30 Days of Books – Day 29

29 Nov

A book everyone hated but you liked

Previously: Favourite title

Again I’m digging way back into my days as a schoolgirl. In grade 10 we had to read Katz und Maus (Cat and Mouse) by Günther Grass in german lit.

 

Most of my classmates hated this book but I didn’t. It is vulgar at times but something made it not that terrible to me as it was for my friends. Grass is a controversial author, or at least, I like to think of him as such. He is one of the big german contemporary authors but that doesn’t mean we have to like it just because he won the Nobel Prize in Literature. Also, I’m not sure if I liked this book, but I hated it less than the other kids in class so I think it counts. But frankly, I don’t need to read it again anytime soon. All the Nazi and 3rd Reich topics are not my favourite.

Next: Your favourite book of all time

4 Responses to “30 Days of Books – Day 29”

  1. Franco Lingua November 29, 2012 at 10:42 #

    So this book is about the 3rd Reich and Nazi? The symbol around the cat’s neck seems to say that as well. But I wonder, what is Grass trying to say with this book?

    • Wilhelmina Upton November 29, 2012 at 13:13 #

      As most of the German writers of his time, Grass grew up in Nazi Germany so most of his stories circle around said topic. It’s about a boy who looks for appreciation and thus becomes part of the 3rd Reichs military but when he is now awarded with the attention he is seeking, he disappears.
      I don’t remember much about the book since it’s been 8 years or so, since I read it.

  2. malna November 29, 2012 at 10:33 #

    I have another award for you, take a look here: http://frankfurtmalin.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/very-inspiring-blogger-award/
    Take care!

Leave a Reply

