30 Days of Books – Day 15

15 Nov

Favourite male character

Previously: Favourite book by your favourite writer

I’m not very good with male characters and I may have a hero complex. I hate Frodo, I really dislike Harry and there are other’s I equally despise if I can even remember them that is. BUT, of course I don’t hate all men, they’re usually just not that interesting. There is however, a certain fellow that is probably my favourite male character and he is Jeeves from the Bertie Wooster novels by P.G. Wodehouse.

Bertie Wooster is a gentleman who gets himself in a lot of trouble with the ladies and his aunt on a regular basis. His valet Jeeves is always there to save his master. Jeeves does so, with astounding wit and fines and sarcasm which is always great. I really love you Jeeves. And the fact that he was played by one Stephen Fry is also really nice.

Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie playing Jeeves and Wooster *smiles*

Next: Your favourite female character

5 Responses to “30 Days of Books – Day 15”

  1. viveka November 15, 2012 at 23:45 #

    Remember this – but I can’t remember anything more than Bertie always ended up being engaged to women he didn’t really want to marry.

    • Wilhelmina Upton November 16, 2012 at 07:12 #

      That’s basically what happens every time and its funny to see how he manages to end it, mostly due to Jerves help.

      • viveka November 16, 2012 at 09:33 #

        It’s so many years ago – must be nearly 30 … soon.

  2. 2cagedbirds November 15, 2012 at 16:26 #

    Number 1: We can’t be friends if you hate Harry. :) Number 2: I find it amusing that both of our favorite male characters are valets. I think that may say something about our opinion of men. Hahaha.

    • Wilhelmina Upton November 15, 2012 at 17:33 #

      I don’t hate Harry, I just don’t like him. He is winy and annoying. I hope my choice for tomorrow will be able to console you ;-)

      Wait, who is your favourite? But yes, I guess your right. I just never paid much attention to male characters, well Aragorn was pretty cool and he gets to marry Arwen which was great. Other than that though, they tend to get on my nerves. It’s just the way it is I suppose.

Leave a Reply

