Happy and Exciting Feels

9 Nov

I could say I’m sorry to be double-posting today but I’m not sorry so forget I said anything and let’s move on.

Exciting times lie ahead for this little blogger as I will start to work on my thesis on Monday!! Finally I’ll be doing something useful again instead of procrastinating while avoiding most stuff. My thesis will be on wind turbines. I have to re-write a program in Matlab and find an optimal characteristic curve for the small turbine on top of our department building.

I’m equal parts scared and excited but in a really good way. I haven’t heard a lot of lectures on the subject and haven’t done any programming in years or done real math with integrals and derivations either. But I’m optimistic that I’ll get into the matter and be able to understand what I’m doing. After all I survived 2 years of AP physics and math so why shouldn’t it work out? Right?!!

And really? After watching American Horror Story Asylum lately, not much truly scares me unless you throw me into a 1960s mental institution against my will, try to turn me into a zombie and throw creepy aliens into the mix as well.

This thesis is not what I originally wanted to do. I wanted to get a topic in the human factors engineering department again but since I already wrote my student research project with them it’s better to diversify my expertise and write my thesis somewhere else. I believe this to be the right fit for me even though it will be a lot of work and hopefully I am indeed equipped to handle all of it. My adviser seems nice so that’s a plus. At the moment I think this is the right decision, I can only hope I feel the same way in a month.

My insights are filled with all kinds of happy feelings which is awesome. Tonight I’ll be seeing a friend again who I haven’t seen in months! And some others that I haven’t seen in an even longer time span but I’m just really excited for friend #1. The others are just a bonus.

What’s going on with you guys? TGIF? I know I am even though this week flew by way too quickly.

5 Responses to “Happy and Exciting Feels”

  1. Melbourne on my Mind (@melbsonmymind) November 10, 2012 at 01:21 #

    My Friday was already over by the time you posted this! Like I said last night, I’m sure you’ll do great on your thesis :)

    • Wilhelmina Upton November 10, 2012 at 01:24 #

      Thanks for the encouragement! Happy Saturday then as I’m now off to bed.

  2. Addie November 9, 2012 at 15:05 #

    I can’t wait to read about friend #1. My Friday is not really something I should thank God for – what with all the canceled plans (including my birthday celeb – family dinner). Then again, I owe this Friday to God so I remain thankful.

    Meanwhile, you have a great time with your friends, Miss Upton.

    • Wilhelmina Upton November 9, 2012 at 15:12 #

      Friend #1 is awesome. As with most friends, we went to school together but now she lives with her boyfriend in another city so we don’t see each other a lot. She is the Franz to my Sissi. Dunno if that reference makes sense outside of Europe. We even got married once in PE, it was real classy in gym clothes and all :D

      Oh no :( Why is your birthday celeb canceled? I just saw on FB that your b-day is the day after mine. And now I’m fascinated. Take care :-)

      • Addie November 9, 2012 at 15:14 #

        WOW! Just WOW.

        I’m referring to both friend #1 and our birth dates.

Leave a Reply

