30 Days of Books – Day 05

5 Nov

A book that makes you happy

Previously: Favourite book of your favourite series

There are a lot of books that make me happy, look at Day 1 and Day 2 for example but I’m trying not to repeat myself in this 30 Day challenge so the book that makes me officially happy is ‘Sing you Home’ by Jodi Picoult.

This was my first and still only novel by Jodi Picoult and I absolutely loved it. As I gather from looking at some of her other books, there’s this typical way in which she constructs a book. Splitting it in parts that are told from the main characters of the story. In this book those are Zoe, her soon-to-be ex-husband Max and Vanessa. Zoe and Max have tried for years to get pregnant, they spent all of their money on in vitro but it never works. At the beginning if the novel Zoe is pregnant and quite far along but she looses the child and is naturally devastated.

Her marriage with Max has been crumbling around the edges for a long time and after the miscarriage they split up because it’s too painful for both of them. Zoe is a musical therapist and while she struggles to accept the loss of her hopes and dreams she becomes friends with Vanessa, a high school guidance counsellor. Vanessa is gay though and after s while, Zoe and Vanessa fall in love with each other. They get married and decide to try to have a baby with the few eggs Zoe still has stored at the fertility clinic. They need Max’s approval though and that sets off a whole fight for marriage equality and so on. While Zoe has found her new romance, Max found refuge in a rather conservative church which advocates against same sex marriage…you see where this is going…a big courtroom showdown.

What initially drew me to this book was the title because I love to sing and music is a constant in my life. The note on the back is very careful not to mention any of the lesbian part of the story and so I was kinda surprised but in a good way. I’m quite thankful to this book because even though it might seem stupid but it made me once and for all realise that I’m gay. The way Vanessa describes how she was always different from the other girls in her class and how she pretended to like the guys all the girls had crushes on even though she knew it wasn’t real for her. I found myself in her character on so many levels it was freaky. I read the 600-something pages in a bit over 24 hours which is FAST for me, really fast. I was THAT invested in the story.

Next: A book that makes you sad

7 Responses to “30 Days of Books – Day 05”

  1. Addie November 6, 2012 at 08:44 #

    I gotta have this in my collection. I only have on JP book – My Sister’s Keeper. It’s movie version sucks. Just one man’s opinion. :)

    • Addie November 6, 2012 at 08:45 #

      *one
      *Its

    • Wilhelmina Upton November 6, 2012 at 09:34 #

      I must admit that I only watched the movie so far but I was also told that the book is way better than the movie. Regardless I liked the movie. But I will read the book someday only now the whole cancer thing is not the best read for me.

  2. malna November 5, 2012 at 22:08 #

    thanks for sharing! it’s very inspiring :-)

  3. 2cagedbirds November 5, 2012 at 18:18 #

    This book sounds fabulous! Now I have 2 books on my to-read list from you. This book challenge may just lead to trouble! :)

    • Wilhelmina Upton November 5, 2012 at 18:21 #

      Oh no :( I don’t want to cause any trouble :D But it’s a great read except for the whole courtroom stuff but I guess that’s what reading Picoult comes with and is why I’m reluctant to read other books by her.

Leave a Reply

