Happy Blogiversary to Me!

9 Aug

One year ago I created this blog and I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I didn’t know how it all really worked. Most of all, I didn’t know how much I would be needing this medium to vent in the months to come.

Not only writing my posts but also commenting on other’s thoughts was/is a great experience. Nothing like the internet to find like-minded people, right? I love the followers that leave comments on my blog and sometimes I wish there were more of them but I know that I’m not the best commentator either. Sometimes I just hit ‘Like’ to let the person know I was there and read it but I didn’t have the time or brain capacity to write a deserving comment. I love to get to know people all around the world and in 12 short months, there are even some I consider friends. This is remarkable since reading my posts must feel like being inside my head (which is not always a place I would want to be) but they read it nonetheless. A big THANK YOU to all of my loyal readers for putting up with my (sometimes repetitious) posts.

Coincidentally this is my 70th post. It’s neither 50 or 100 but it’s still a nice even number. Well, nice number is a rather subjective thing. I actually prefer uneven numbers, prime numbers are the best. Why you might ask? My answer: First of all because I’m crazy and second, because I like the fact that they cannot be divided by anything else then 1 and themselves. 13, 23, 37…those are really cool numbers to me but round numbers are considered the big celebratory deal so I just roll with it here.

Gosh, what else did I want to say?

Argh, I thought there would be so much more to say but I don’t really want to do a recap of my year in blogging as I feel boring enough as it is.

I’d much rather spend some lines on the topic of marriage equality. First of all, I don’t understand why same sex marriage must be called a civil union, why can’t marriage be marriage and we’d be done with it? Yesterday the highest German court again ruled in favour of marriage equality yet our legislation is more than reluctant to even give gay people in civil unions the chance to have the same tax benefits as straight couples.

The Minister-President of Bavaria, Horst Seehofer, told the newspapers that marriage between one woman and one man must be kept special because only that can be considered a true family because the purpose of marriage and family is to reproduce – to breed – and you can’t naturally do so in a same sex relationship. (This is a loose translation but it’s basically what he said) Strictly following this, every couple with an infertile partner should’t be able to marry or if already married should be degraded to a civil union. But that is just stupid right? Right! And what about couples like my godmother? She chose not to have children with her husband but nobody tells them their marriage, i.e. commitment to each other, does count less.

A child cannot be adopted equally by a same sex couple which is bullshit. Our (german) law would rather let children stay in foster care than give them two loving mommies or two loving daddies. I think this is wrong!

I could ramble on and on and still would not understand it. I can only hope that people and especially politicians will start to realise that it does not matter who you love and want to spent the rest of your lives with.

6 Responses to “Happy Blogiversary to Me!”

  1. theappletizer August 11, 2012 at 15:51 #

    Happy blogiversary! Mine’s gonna be on the 19th! :)

  2. onwindydays August 11, 2012 at 07:42 #

    Ah, well Happy Blogoversary! I felt the same way when I started too! Actually I still feel the same way. But overall, this blogging thing has pretty opened my eyes to a lot of different perspectives. So many awesome people to relate with, you know, in some way or another.

    Coincidentally I am at my 70th post as well haha. But by now you’re probably past that :P Oh well! Soooper tired. Must..get..some sleep! Hope everything’s well with you Karina :)

    • Wilhelmina Upton August 11, 2012 at 08:57 #

      Yep, I’m a little past 70 now :)
      Hope you got some rest. How are things with you?

  3. Charleen August 9, 2012 at 17:07 #

    Happy blogiversary!

    I am with you on the equal rights thing. Actually my husband just did a blog post about this (in the US) the other day, not sure if you saw it since I didn’t link it to Twitter. There seems to be a lot of confusion over what the term “marriage” actually means, everyone has their own interpretation of it. In my mind, the biggest concern is getting equal rights and benefits, regardless of the label you put on it. But I know the label is important to some people too.

    • Wilhelmina Upton August 9, 2012 at 17:25 #

      You’re right, I didn’t catch Pat’s blog post but I did read it now and I really liked what he said. He should post more often ;-)

      As you know, I love Aaron Sorkin and he just phrased it so much better than I ever could. Gosh I love The West Wing and President Bartlet…and I just remembered seeing this clip on YouTube…

Leave a Reply

