Rizzoli and Isles

5 Aug

There’s so much on my mind and it’s mostly dark so what I do is dive into fictional worlds. In the last weeks, I grew to love the TNT show ‘Rizzoli and Isles’. It’s similar to Bones so I really had no chance of not liking this show.

I don’t really want to get into summarising the whole show here. But, maybe just real quick…Jane Rizzoli is a homicide detective in Boston and Dr. Maura Isles is the Chief Medical Examiner for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Together they fight crime but mostly it’s a show about their friendship.

The case of the week is usually not the most interesting thing about the episodes but that’s exactly how I like it. I never watched Bones or Crossing Jordan for the cases but for the connections between the main characters. To see their friendships, impending heartache and whatnot unfold.

Rizzoli and Isles are supposed to be heterosexual characters and that is fine by me. Only, they have more sexual tension with each other than with any other male character on the show. But no they’re so straight! Sure. Except when they stare longingly into each others eyes, touch each other over and over or fall asleep next to each other in bed. Just stuff good friends do, right? Um, no?!

And would it be so bad if these two gorgeous women would actually hook up with each other? The show is set in Boston after all…they could even get married #justsaying

But I am getting too far ahead of myself here. It took Booth and Brennan a long time to acknowledge their feelings for each other so there’s still hope, right? Until then I’ll just enjoy watching these two being just ‘friends’ and reading the hilarious subtext recaps on afterellen.com Because, believe it or not, there can be a lot of subtext in just 40 minutes of television :D And one can never get enough of Angie Harmon holding a gun *fainting*

So, I’ve never been a fangirl, never read fanfiction until now. Maybe that’s because until now the pairs I liked to see happening in TV shows actually had a chance of happening and eventually did happen. But these two? I’m not sure if they will ever go canon. Luckily there’s a lot of fanfiction out on the interwebs about them. I’m not alone in wanting them to be a couple, which is good.

Leave a Reply

