Episodes

22 May

A while ago I had a conversation with my uncle about accents. He wanted to know if I had a british accent in my english or not. Here’s how it went:

He: Do you have a british accent?

Me: I dunno. I guess so. (Note, this was the time before I needed to watch every TV show in its original language so where should I have gotten anything other than a proper british school accent from?)

H: Ok then just talk to me in english.

M: Hmm, what shall I say…(says some random stuff)

H: Oh yes, you definitely have an american accent. You know, I trained myself to having a british one.

M: Huh, well, I don’t really think it matters that much.

Why am I recounting this boring little episode out of my life for you to read? Well, because back then I didn’t have the courage and the words to tell him where he could stick his pretentious little british accent. So what if I sound american, I’m proud of it. I earned it by watching tons and tons of shows he probably never even heard of. If he thinks that he needs a certain accent so other people would think highly of him then so be it. That’s not me. I still don’t care what I sound like as long as I don’t sound like a stupid german who’s unable to pronounce a proper ‘th’ then I’m more than happy (believe me there are more than enough of those around and I’m always ashamed, even our secretary of state is a disgrace to the english language, sorry, Guido)

Today as I picked my mom up from an appointment at our hairdresser she told me that the hairdresser (I call her Plam for further reference) gets a bouquet of red roses every week from her ex-husbamd. I was immediately on the edge of barfing. I would cut them up and send them back to him but then Plam’s sister told me that Plam might actually be thinking of rekindling that relationship which didn’t make it all that better in my opinion. I mean they broke up for a reason!

Then it hit me, I must come across as quite unromantic. It happened to me before when my boss told me her daughter wanted to go see Titanic in 3D that week. I’m sorry but I hate Titanic, it’s a long movie and the ship sinks at the end. Also, we had to watch Titanic on long bus-rides to and from camp when I was little as it seemed to be the only VHS-tape any of the grown-ups owned. So I’ve seen my fair share of that particular movie and I just can’t think of any reason to go sit in a cinema and pay a lot of money to watch it again in 3D (I want Star Wars 3D for crying out loud!). Which is what I told my boss and she said that I was just probably not that into romance movies. Hello?? Where did she get her intel? I love them but just not Titanic.

What I am trying to say with the red roses and Titanic episodes is that I don’t like stereotypes and cliches. Red roses equal a display of love. Well, not in my book. Roses are ok but to me there are other, much prettier, flowers out there which I would much rather get from a lover. Also yellow and orange would be more to my liking than red.
Maybe I am just peculiar in that way, I don’t like doing what everybody else does, I like being unique. I would never buy a tracksuit again for crying out loud. I hate it when the jacket matches the pants like that. I’m not even sure what makes me dislike them so much. I just do.

I would much more appreciate getting a book as a present from a lover. Doesn’t sound romantic enough? But buying a bunch of flowers is considered romantic? I mean, they die after a short while, you can’t enjoy them for long but then a good book is something for eternity. And it’s not so easy to pick out if you want it to be right, You need to know the person very well to hit their literary nerve.

Stereotypes exist for a reason because the persons described in them do actually exist but then again so do even more other people who share the same characteristics but don’t fit the respective stereotype. Like girls are not supposed to be good in math and sciences. Well, I was! Still am and I don’t even look like a dork.

I dread the family dinners in which my uncle asks me if I have a boyfriend and when I say that I don’t have one then what is so wrong with that? Granted, I would like to be in love and all but just because I am 24 and single doesn’t mean there is anything wrong with me. I’m picky, it takes time and then there’s some other stuff but in general I am allowed to be single or in a relationship because I feel like it and not because society tells me that for a girl over 21 the chances of finding a partner subside every year. This is 2012, not a Jane Austen novel.
There’s this boy I went to school with who is now married to a woman from Australia, he started to study medicine last year and now their second child is on its way. That scares the crap out of me! How can they do all that so fast? I don’t think it’s wrong but it’s just so early in their lives. But I guess it has something to do with the fact that they are very religious. Nevertheless they seem to be so far ahead on that life-path from me that I get uncomfortable but it’s their choice. If they can handle it why not be parents that early. After all I want my uncle to accept my not being in a relationship so I need to acknowledge that other people have different life-plans.

And now I seemed to have lost any track of where this post was ever supposed to be headed but that’s ok. I did my little rant and I really hope that I didn’t offend anyone. If I did than I’m sorry but this is just a glance into who I am and now I am finally going to sleep. Btw, why do I always get ‘inspired’ to write something when I’m already in bed trying to fall asleep? #stupid

11 Responses to “Episodes”

  1. onwindydays May 29, 2012 at 07:46 #

    Haha, oh wow, if I had a British accent…I don’t think I would ever stop talking. It’s just so weird that you have to keep doing it…that and the Australian accent. That one is so fun to do haha!

    And with the last part…don’t worry about it! There’s a ton more that you should look forward to. And anyways that time will come, you’ll find that person! Oh boy…I totally understand what you mean about writing things when I should be sleeping D: Anyways, I hope everything’s good with you!

    • Wilhelmina Upton May 29, 2012 at 17:58 #

      Everything’s fine here? How about you?

      • onwindydays June 2, 2012 at 06:38 #

        I’m doing great, thanks! Just a bit stressed lately but it’s all good :) Haven’t been able to be on WP much lately though…I miss having some time to read through all of these posts! D:

        • Wilhelmina Upton June 2, 2012 at 13:22 #

          Good to hear. Ah, there are just times with a lot of stress, I guess it will get better again :-) and then you’ll have all the time to read through WP.

          • onwindydays June 7, 2012 at 09:12 #

            Haha, yea! WP is killing me haha :D It’s almost like a book whose pages never end :P

  2. Addie May 24, 2012 at 10:27 #

    “just because I am 24 and single doesn’t mean there is anything wrong with me”
    Ditto!
    And about your uncle…yours and mine might have been just one person.

    This brings to memory everything I wrote here: http://justbeingthoughtful.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/is-love-out-of-reach-2/

    • Wilhelmina Upton May 24, 2012 at 10:49 #

      Hahaha, what’s your uncle like? Mine always thinks that he knows everything but he sure doesn’t. Don’t get me wrong he’s my family and I love him but I guess sometimes we are just a bit too similar and stubborn to get along. And I just hate it when he asks me if I have a boyfriend yet :D

      • Addie May 24, 2012 at 10:56 #

        Haha. Your uncle and my uncle will for sure hit it off. I can imagine your uncle interrogating you about boys. My uncle used to do the same thing but nowadays he is more straightforward and just sometimes ask me how long he has to wait til I introduce a man to him – and he says that with great impatience. He wants me to settle down at 27. I’m 24 but 27 feels like tomorrow already. *gasping*

        • Wilhelmina Upton May 24, 2012 at 10:59 #

          Oh brother. One time I got very impatient with him and told him that it was none of his business and since then he hasn’t asked me again I think.

          Wow, like you can possibly plan to be in a loving relationship at 27 or are you supposed to take the next best man that comes along just to make him happy?

        • Addie May 24, 2012 at 11:02 #

          Just recently, a girlfriend and I had our sudden slumber party (one that I also suggest we do) and she asked me why I seem to not get pressured about not having a boyfriend at my age. I just rolled my eyes.

          And you gave uncle the NOYB? Poor thing. :)

          • Wilhelmina Upton May 24, 2012 at 11:09 #

            Sure I did since it really isn’t. Thankfully his wife backs me since she knows how awful it is to get questioned like this time after time by a relative.

Leave a Reply

