Some of my favorite things!

16 Apr

Today I wanted to share with you, dear readers and those who accidentally stumble upon this blog, some of my favorite things. As I feel sad and weighed down by the weight of the world more often these times than is good for me, I like to remind myself that there are numerous things in life which are beautiful and very dear to my heart.

So, let’s start, shall we?!

The smell of fresh cut grass. I don’t have any allergies, so I can truly appreciate it :-)

Watching a sunrise or sunset, possibly somewhere close to the ocean or a lake.

Raindrops pounding on the roof, so you have a reason to snuggle up into a blanket and stay inside to read a good book or watch an old b&w movie.

That musty smell as well as fresh cut trees lining your way while you walk through the woods in spring when there are no flying insects annoying the hell out of you.

Singing your heart out to a favorite song (there are a lot of favorite songs which accommodate different sets of moods).

Waking up on a lazy sunday with the sun shining into your window when you don’t have to get up immediately but can enjoy the relaxed feeling of a good night’s sleep while staying in the not-sleeping-anymore-but-not-being-awake-either-mood as long as possible.

Watching snowflakes on their way to earth on a crispy cold winter night.

The feeling of going outside on a sunny day with -10°C and enjoying the hell out of yourself because it’s so pretty and not that cold at all.

Getting unexpected mail from a friend, preferably in form of a post-card :-)

That’s all I can come up with at the moment. What are your favorite things?

I searched Youtube for a clip of Julie Andrews singing that song out of the Sound of Music but coulnd’t find any, so this will have to do.

3 Responses to “Some of my favorite things!”

  1. onwindydays April 22, 2012 at 05:57 #

    Oh! Some of my favorite things are, listening to music on shuffle and coming across a song that I haven’t heard in forever. Eating just cookie dough (haha, definitely not good for me). Getting into a really good book (if it’s really good, it’ll turn into a first priority until I finish it :) ) Sneaking in a ten or twenty minute nap. Oh, and one of my favorites…knowing that every day that I wake up is another gift.

    I totally have allergies to fresh cut grass! Lucky you! Every spring when the new grass comes in, until it’s done growing, it’s about two weeks of allergy hell. But oh well, that’s only one little thing haha. Totally agree with most of these, including the raindrops one, naturally :P

    • Wilhelmina Upton April 22, 2012 at 10:17 #

      Oh, those are some pretty good things, too. I definitely agree with the cookie dough and diving into a great book. I love it :-)

      • Wilhelmina Upton April 22, 2012 at 18:34 #

        I just thought of another favorite thing, finding money in your wallet you didn’t know you had in there. Ok, this happened earlier, that’s why I thought of it xD but it was great!

Leave a Reply

