Hello Bitches…I mean Belles…no GCB

5 Mar

I just watched the premiere of GCB (short for Good Christian Belles who were originally named Good Christian Bitches) while eating some home made chili. Me thinks it a perfect fit since the show is set in Dallas, Texas.

It’s the new show on ABC which took over the time slot from the short-lived Pan Am and my first impression is not bad. But first things first. A short summary of the pilot:

The show centers around Amanda Vaughn (played by Leslie Bibb whom I know from her arc in Crossing Jordan) who has to move back from California with her two kids after her husband dies in a car crash because he couldn’t keep his hands on the steering wheel of his car during an orgasm. Amanda’s husband was not only unfaithful to his wife but also up to no good business-wise, so she is left with nothing. Her only option is to go move back in with her mother in Dallas.
As it appears, she was a bitch in High School, hated by everyone so it’s no surprise that her former enemies are less than thrilled to have her back in their lives.

What GCB wants to show is the double standard by which people in the more conservative regions of America live (not all of them of course!!). Where the person you portray yourself as is very different from the one you actually are. Carlene (played by the wonderful Kristin Chenoweth) is the perfect example, she likes to throw christian values around, quoting the Bible to support her points while she is the one secretly owning a morally questionable establishment where women wear tight hot pants and have their boobs squish out of their shirts.

I can’t predict if this show will last longer than its predecessor Pan Am or if it will be the replacement for Desperate Housewives ABC is obviously looking for. The following weeks will show whether GCB can hold steady in story line as well as ratings or whether it will spiral into crazy, stupid story lines.

The reason I watched it in the first place was because of Kristin Chenoweth. When I saw that they had her being a member of the local church choir I was really happy because it meant I will get to hear her lovely singing voice again on a regular basis. Whether I truly like this show, I’m not sure, only time can help me seeing things more clearly. I still remember watching the pilot episode of Desperate Housewives and I know I was less thrilled and stopped watching the show altogether in season two.

GCB had me chuckle sometimes with funny dialog which obviously is a good thing. I do hope they’ll find their tone and will not drift into too ridiculous storylines. See you next week, bitches! Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

