Happy Valentine’s Day…NOT!

14 Feb

Instead, let me wish you a ‘Happy Anna Howard Shaw Day’ or ‘Happy Saint Valentine’s Day Massacre’!

To be honest, I did not come up with those on my own but rather draw inspiration from some beloved TV shows because every one has a Valentine’s Day episode. Naturally the protagonists are not always happily in love, as so many other people are.  ‘Anna Howard Shaw Day’ was taken from 30 Rock, one of my favorite shows. Anyone who has ever watched 30 Rock is not surprised, that Liz Lemon does not believe in this romanticized day, invented by the greeting card companies! She, like me, rather calls herself a feminist, so she can deny the impact of Valentine’s Day in order to celebrates the birthday of an activist for women’s rights! (Until she has a boyfriend that is :D)

I am a feminist, and I wear this label proudly, because I don’t see anything wrong with it. I’ve been like this since school. In grade 12 I choose Virginia Woolf and the question whether she was a role model for the women’s movement of the 1930s in Britain as a topic for my assignment. Needless to say, I aced it! My english teacher was very pleased with the result and it made me his favorite pupil in my year.

Calling myself a feminist also makes accepting the fact of being single or alone easier for me. I tell myself that I don’t need a man to be happy, to feel complete and so on. Bla bla bla. Just the typical rant you tell yourself when you’re single so you won’t feel bad, especially on a day like today, where it’s impossible to watch TV or listen to the radio without being reminded of Valentine’s Day. Blergh!! Then I tell myself: ‘You will not be single next year!’ Ha! The times I told myself this, and it’s never been true.

Instead I should just go into a shooting ranch next year, like Booth and Brennan on season 6 of Bones. I kind of like this idea though I’ve never held a gun in my life. But of course, there are many many things I’ve never done before, so I should start doing them instead of sitting at home writing blog entries to keep myself busy.

The best thing about tonight is though that Cougar Town is finally back on ABC!!! I’m desperate for the new season and to see Big Carl again! For everyone who’s not hooked on the show yet: It is NOT about older women wanting to sleep around with younger men. It’s a show about friendship, drinking whine and just having a great time. It’s simply a bad title, so if you haven’t already, GO CHECK IT OUT!!! Seriously!

With that, I part for tonight. Tomorrow all this talking about love will be over, a new day, new problems. I can’t wait. Till then: Happy Valentine’s Anna Howard Shaw Day Massacre!

Leave a Reply

